Welcome to RVForums.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends and let's have fun
  • Commercial/Vendors welcome
  • Friendliest RV community on the web

Degnr8

RVF Regular
Hi all. I'm a newbie here. I just bought an Econoline 350 super duty that I'm going to convert and am looking for a trailer. I've been looking into my options for off grid electricity. I notice everything still recommends batteries and inverters, but with solar generators being so much simpler, cheaper, and more compact I'm wondering why. What's the down side to solar generators?

The solar generators that I’ve seen are small by RV standards and wouldn't supply enough power to get even a very efficient RV through the night, and without perfect solar conditions (a rarity) the panels aren’t big enough to make much more power during the day than to just recharge the battery. The solar output claims are under ideal conditions. They list running capacities in the 2000w+ range but the panels that come with them are nowhere near that capability. Since you are building this rig from scratch you can make it as efficient as possible, do you energy calcs, and maybe find a solar generator big enough to suit your needs.

Last edited:
Welcome to RVforums. Enjoy your adventure! I am not in the know on solar generators so I will let the experts comment.

Speaking from my own experience from Jeep camping with a rooftop tent using my Goal Zero Yeti 1000, I can run my Dometic CFX50W fridge/freezer, LED lights and recharge a couple of devises for about a week without recharging. I use two 100 watt folding panels to recharge and usually just plug them both into the Yeti at the start. I can also charge (AC or DC) from the Jeep when driving.